A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

£4.495
FREE Shipping

A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

RRP: £8.99
Price: £4.495
£4.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

I really enjoyed A Spoonful of Murder and this book is the sequel (although both do stand alone as mysteries), featuring the same ex-school staff investigating mysterious goings on in their LEA. The 103 third parties who use cookies on this service do so for their purposes of displaying and measuring personalized ads, generating audience insights, and developing and improving products. But when poison pen letters start landing on the doorsteps of friends and neighbours in their Yorkshire village, old secrets come to light.

I understand that the author was a teacher and therefore there's a connection to the UK school system, but it was so in depth that it was boring. A gently quirky cosy mystery with plenty of twists and turns, and an intriguing cast of characters – some endearing, some not so much! But when poison pen letters start landing on the doorsteps of friends and neighbours in their Yorkshire village, old secrets come to light with the potential for deadly consequences. When Kayleigh Brittain, the new head teacher, receives the first of what will be a series of nasty letters targeting teachers at the school, Thelma thinks it’s an isolated and unpleasant incident. With a few twists to keep us guessing, and I did guess correctly who was writing the letters, but that takes nothing away from a good story.One of them is also vehemently against the idea of being a governor at the school and then two pages later is agreeing to the job. Unlike the previous book in the series, the three women have drifted a little apart, as they all have their own concerns and worries, and a certain reluctance to share these with the other two. I really enjoyed A Spoonful of Murder, the first book in this series, but found myself somewhat disappointed in this one. A gently quirky cosy mystery with plenty of twists and turns , and an intriguing cast of characters – some endearing, some not so much!

All in all though if you do like you’re cozy crime and don’t mind putting the work in to sit down and read in more than one sitting then I think you would enjoy this. I loved the first book in this series so naturally I was very excited about the second one, and boy it didn’t disappoint in any way.I also liked how he included topics such as schools turning into businesses, which made you really think. Retired schoolteachers Liz, Pat and Thelma are back at their usual table at the Thirsk Garden Centre cafe with a brand-new mystery to solve . Sadly though once we learnt that White Letters were being received by various people , it took so long to actually get going it ,it actually sent me to sleep in several sections . I haven’t actually read the first book (it's on my tbr tho) but I enjoyed this cosy mystery and I loved our three main characters Liz, Pat and Thelma. Retired schoolteachers Liz, Pat and Thelma are back at their usual table at the Thirsk Garden Centre cafe with a brand-new mystery to solve.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop